Green smoothies in the morning!

November 30, 2009 at 2:17 pm 1 comment

One of my more favorite kitchen appliances is the Vita-Mix that sits prominently on the counter by the sink.  It gets a lot of use in our house–making butter, peanut butter, mayonnaise, soups, drinks.  Lately it’s been making the best breakfast smoothies!!

Because we’ve needed to get more greens in our diet and because I particularly like drinking at least part of my breakfast, I’ve recently discovered green smoothies made with kale leaves or spinach.  You could probably use other greens as well; I haven’t tried yet.  The secret to great flavors is in the proportion of greens to fruit.  I’ve been aiming for about 60% fruit to 40% greens, and these drinks have a wonderful, fresh taste that’s a great start to the day.  This morning, for example, I started with a raw egg (fresh out of the chicken coop), a large spoonful of plain yogurt (maybe 1/3 cup), half an apple, a smallish banana, about 1/4 cup frozen raspberries, 2 large kale leaves, 2 ice cubes and water to make the consistency I like.  It tastes terriffic and keeps me going all morning!

I’ve also used spinach leaves, frozen peach slices, frozen bananas.  If you want to try this in a regular blender, I’d suggest putting the greens in first and blending them, then adding everything else.  For anyone who tries this, let me know how it turns out–the experimenting is great fun!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s the little things that make life so precious! More vital kitchen equipment

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 1, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I’ve been doing that too! Yay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Archived posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


