A beautiful, inspiring place to work on projects!

December 24, 2009 at 5:18 pm Leave a comment

Today was one of those outrageously beautiful, but very cold winter days.  The thermometer started at 13F this morning, eventually climbing to 20F by mid-afternoon.

I spent quite a bit of the day in our “in-progress” garage.  We’ve built a studio for me in the south end, and today I was finally moved in enough to enjoy the experience of working in this delightful room.  In it I’ve carefully placed my sewing machine and serger, rolling drop-leaf cutting table, extra storage carts and an antique secretary, shelves of sewing goodies on display behind a curved glass door (the secretary’s been in my family for several generations).  In the next few days I’ll move my home office into one end of that room and enjoy a light and airy space for desk/computer work as well.  The best thing about the room?  It’s flooded with winter sunlight, the sun being lower in the sky this time of year.

So today I worked on an “Elmo” wall hanging for grandson.  I obtained a nice Elmo image from the internet, made a pattern, cut out colored felt pieces and stitched it on a muslin background.  It’s cute!  I think he’ll like it in his room.  Actually, I’m making one for his room at home, one for his room here because he spends most of the week with us.  I’ll post pictures later this week.  I’m excited to have a first-class work space; now my sewing goal is to finish a new pair of pants and have a new favorite pant pattern so I can make a lot more!

Entry filed under: Crafts, Sewing studio. Tags: , , .

Community Thanksgiving Dinner Almost 2010…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archived posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


