Almost 2010…

December 31, 2009 at 4:18 pm Leave a comment

So, I probably won’t actually believe it’s a new year for a week or so!  Time just slips by way too fast!!

But it’s time to think about goals for this coming year.  We (my husband and I) have established annual goals for us as a couple for the last three years.  After we pray over what we feel the Lord is highlighting for the coming year, I put it on the computer and print it out.  Then we post it just inside the bedroom door on our wall where we see it going in and out of the room.  It does help us stay focused and working towards specifics over the next 12 months.  Besides, it feels wonderful to cross things off as we accomplish them!

This year I’m thinking of a couple sewing goals as well.  Being a fairly typical sewist, I have collected quite a a stash of fabrics over the years, most of which I’m still fond of and want to see made up into something to wear.  So, my first goal is to make at least one garment each month from my stash.  That’s a pretty “green” goal, don’t you think?  The next one qualifies as green as well.  Also, each month I’m purposing to remake or remodel at least one garment (either from my closet or a thrift store find that I couldn’t resist).  We’ll see how it goes; I think it’s realistic, even when caring for young grandson every day.  I’m hoping that each time I finish a garment, it will inspire me to start another one.

Another thing we do each year, a tradition really, is lay out our spending plan for the coming year.  I’ve developed a simple form to record our budget information from the current year and input next year’s plan.  Then I transfer the new numbers to QuickBooks.  Ideally, we formulate the plan on January 1st, but always as soon after the beginning of the new year as we can.

It would be fun to hear how you start the new year.  What sort of activities do you engage in?  Let me know–

In the meantime, have a Happy New Year!

Entry filed under: Planning/organizing. Tags: , , , , .

A beautiful, inspiring place to work on projects! Tandoori Chicken on the BBQ

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archived posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


