An Elmo wall hanging for the birthday boy!

January 11, 2010 at 3:43 pm Leave a comment

Young grandson turned 3 years old on Saturday.  He still enjoys Elmo (along with other Sesame Street characters and Curious George) so I wanted to take advantage of that interest before he got older and decided that Elmo was only for babies!

I printed Elmo out from Goggle Images and drew my design from that, enlarging it probably 3 times or so.  The finished wall hangings (one for his room at home, one for his room here) are 17″ wide, 20″ high including the red border.  I used felt for the colors and zigzagged around all the edges to give definition to Elmo.  He’s “dancing” on a muslin background!  Grandson really likes him, and I definitely had fun making him up.  I’ve shrunk my drawing to a size that will fit a pillow form, so I can now make a throw pillow for him as well.  Actually, I was thinking of perhaps attaching the Elmo figure to the pillow with velcro so it could be taken off to wash and later exchange for another design that would be more age-appropriate.  Any comments on that?

Here’s Elmo hanging on my studio wall:

Dancing Elmo

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: , , .

An Encouraging Thought for the New Year! Another success–new, improved meatloaf

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Archived posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


