Still soaking (whole grain muffins, tortillas)

February 16, 2010 at 7:20 pm 1 comment

I’m practicing my soaking again; today we had a couple winners. First up was a batch of muffins that is going to make a great basic recipe in my binder. This time I added a mashed banana, both for flavor and for moisture. The recipe comes from Wardeh’s blog, Gnowfglins; it’s a sample tutorial recipe from her upcoming eCourse on traditional food preparation. I’m definitely glad I tried it as it’s going to be a foundational recipe in my recipe notebook. Click here to access Wardeh’s blog and find out about her coming course, and naturally, find this recipe.

My other success story today in the kitchen was whole grain tortillas. I’ve tried soaking tortillas before, but never quite got the product I was looking for. Today’s tortillas were beautiful–soft and pliable, looking much like the hand-fashioned tortillas in Mexico–as well as delicious. My husband and I were both impressed, and this is another “keeper”. The recipe comes from Stephanie at “Keeper of the Home,”  “http://www.keeperofthehome.org/”>.

Soaking is fun–it does take planning ahead, but after that it’s easy!  One of the next things I’d like to try is yeast bread.  Sue Gregg has a sample recipe on her web site; I’ll keep you posted.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , .

Potato Leek Soup Planting Time!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. For Joy in the Journey  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:17 am

    These muffins are a big hit! Tried them again this morning (yesterday’s were nearly gone and I’d wanted to put some in the freezer). Today I used our dried cherries and shredded coconut. Yummmm! Maybe next time I’ll try our canned prunes, maybe using the liquid from them in place of the milk. We’ll see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Archived posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


